MICROBE AND GASOLINE

  • "Packed with off-kilter, ramshackle charm."
    -THE OBSERVER
  • "If this film were a person, you'd want to give it a big hug ..."
    -THE GUARDIAN
  • "A charming coming-of-age saga in which Michel Gondry channels his usual preoccupations through the prism of a Truffaut-esque tale of iconoclasts in search of themselves and their place in the world."
    -THE PLAYLIST

The new handmade-SFX comedy from Michel Gondry (ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND, MOOD INDIGO) is set in an autobiographical key. Teenage misfits Microbe (Ange Dargent) and Gasoline (Théophile Baquet), one nicknamed for his size and the other for his love of all things mechanical and fuel-powered, become fast friends. Unloved in school and misunderstood at home—Microbe is overprotected, Gasoline is by turns ignored and abused—they decide to build a house on wheels (complete with a collapsible flower window box) and sputter, push, and coast their way to the camp where Gasoline went as a child, with a stop along the way to visit Microbe’s crush (Diane Besnier). Gondry’s visual imagination is prodigious, and so is his cultivation of spontaneously generated fun and off-angled lyricism, his absolute irreverence, and his emotional frankness. This is one of his freshest and loveliest films. With Audrey Tatou as Microbe’s mom.

INFO

Directed by Michel Gondry.
France. 105minutes. 2k Digital Projection.
2016. French with English Subtitles.

BUY TICKETS

SHOWTIMES

  • Friday, July 15, 2016 - 6:30pm
  • Saturday, July 16, 2016 - 1:45pm
  • Saturday, July 16, 2016 - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, July 16, 2016 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, July 17, 2016 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, July 17, 2016 - 5:00pm
  • Monday, July 18, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, July 19, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 20, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, July 21, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Friday, July 22, 2016 - 8:45pm
  • Saturday, July 23, 2016 - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, July 24, 2016 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, July 24, 2016 - 6:00pm

MORE INFO