THE INNOCENTS

  • "Powerful and Moving. Leaves us with a fresh understanding of our capacity to respond to suffering with good or evil, and to find new definitions of grace and vocation."
    -VARIETY
  • "The dialogue is superb, both powerful and understated, bolstering the emotional authenticity of the performances."
    -THE WRAP
  • "Anne Fontaine's film is an allegory for women's condition more generally, in times of war or peace."
    -SLANT MAGAZINE

Warsaw, December 1945: the second World War is finally over and French Red Cross doctor Mathilde (Lou de Laage) is treating the last of the French survivors of the German camps. When a panicked Benedictine nun appears at the clinic begging Mathilde to follow her back to the convent, what she finds there is shocking: a holy sister about to give birth and several more in advanced stages of pregnancy. A non-believer, Mathilde enters the sisters’ fiercely private world, dictated by the rituals of their order and the strict Rev. Mother (Agata Kulesza, IDA). Fearing the shame of exposure, the hostility of the occupying Soviet troops and local Polish communists and while facing an unprecedented crisis of faith, the nuns increasingly turn to Mathilde as their beliefs and traditions clash with harsh realities. Selected by the Sundance Film Festival.

INFO

Directed by Anne Fontaine.
France. 115minutes. 2k Digital Projection.
2016. French and Polish with English Subtitles.

BUY TICKETS

SHOWTIMES

  • Friday, July 29, 2016 - 6:30pm
  • Saturday, July 30, 2016 - 1:15pm
  • Saturday, July 30, 2016 - 5:45pm
  • Sunday, July 31, 2016 - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, July 31, 2016 - 6:15pm
  • Monday, August 1, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, August 2, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, August 4, 2016 - 6:00pm
  • Friday, August 5, 2016 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, August 6, 2016 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, August 7, 2016 - 1:00pm

MORE INFO